Red Bull Magnitude, a women’s big-wave video contest, will take place across the Hawaiian Islands during December 1, 2020 – February 28, 2021. The inaugural event will put the top waterwomen to the test and exemplify what it means to be a big-wave charger.

The three-month contest will take place at iconic breaks across Hawaii such as Jaws on Maui, Waimea Bay, and the outer reefs of Oahu’s North Shore. Film crews will be on-hand to capture the action when the surf shows a sustained 15-foot Hawaiian wave height. Competitors will have the option to work with their own film crew at any Hawaiian break so long that the waves captured meet the noted criteria.

There will be $40,000 in prize purse on the line with the “Overall Performance” winner set to receive $25,000. This award will be given to the surfer who showcases the most consistent and progressive big-wave rides over the course of the season. The “Runner Up,” “Best Ride,” and “Biggest Wave” category will each hold a $5,000 award.

An esteemed panel of judges will determine the winners:

Rochelle Ballard: Three-time Surfer Poll winner

Betty DePolito: First woman in history to surf Pipeline

Kai Lenny: Reigning “Overall Performance” winner of the Red Bull Big Wave Awards

Mark Healey: Winner of multiple big-wave related awards

Judges will convene from March 1-15, 2021 to select category winners, culminating in an awards ceremony on March 15. Additionally, the “People’s Choice” award presented by Yeti, will open to public vote here during this time.

All awards will be announced on March 16, 2021.


Makani Adric

Paige Alms

Wrenna Delgado

Justine Dupont

Emily Erickson

Michaela Fregonese

Izzi Gomez

Brittany Gomulka

Raquel Heckert

Keala Kennelly

Sheila Lee

Isabelle Leonhardt

Skylar Lickle

Siri Masterson

Silvia Nabuco

Remi Nealon

Kelta O’Rourke

Polly Ralda

Annie Reickart

Momo Sakuma

Kiyomi Sheppard

Jennifer Useldinger

Kaya Waldman

Moana Jones

Original Post from this site

By admin

SurfinDaddy has been hanging around the periphery of the web since 2001 – but the dawn of 2021 sees us ready to jump into the fray. No longer content to be an outsider (but loving that our readership will be those who love the outdoors) we’re poised to become your online resource for all things related to boardsports.